World Studies Connects with Spain and Russia

18 Feb

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Our World Studies students are using skype, email and Facebook to engage in a cultural exchange with high school students in one school in northern Spain and two schools in Russia.  Our Russia exchange grew out of the Russian students’ and our students’ mutual interest in International Peace Day.  See the students of the British Club of Magnitogorsk, Russia, upping the ante for us by hosting an International Peace Day Conference in Magnitogorsk.  On February 22, we skyped with them about “peace” and “what youth can do to promote peace.”  They left us feeling hopeful that the world can become more peaceful through the use of this technology.  The second Russian school we are excited to be exchanging ideas with is “Gymnasium Number 4,” in Velikiy Novgorod, Russia.  Watch the Gymnasium No. 4 students speaking  English here.  More details forthcoming….

3 Responses to “World Studies Connects with Spain and Russia”

  1. Robert Gattis February 22, 2012 at 4:59 am #

    I’m on it! Just emailed my person. Hope they reply back. I really hope people will do this epal, or penpal. Its a great way to meet new people. Get to know others around the world, and learn some culture first hand. I would promote this.

    • dashamorozova February 22, 2012 at 8:01 am #

      Hi, Robert:) I also will be on it.That’s great opportunity to get to know new people, share our interests and hobbies..I hope to improve my speaking skills in english as well:)

    • Dasha Morozova February 22, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

      Hi, Robert:) I also will be on it.That’s great opportunity to get to know new people, share our interests and hobbies..I hope to improve my speaking skills in english as well:)

Leave a comment