Invisible Children Come to Shaka House

4 Nov

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Shaka House and the Freshman Academy hosted an all-day human rights event:  Invisible Children.  Oganda Kuzito, a refugee from the 20-year Ugandan Civil War taught us about the war, how cellphones are  helping to end it, and actions our students can take to bring peace to remote villages in Central African Republic, South Sudan and D.R. Congo.  Click here to learn more.

26 Responses to “Invisible Children Come to Shaka House”

  1. Trigg Ethridge November 8, 2011 at 4:11 am #

    I think that it’s a good thing to individually help the children in Northern Uganda. But that only makes an impact of one. It’s an amazing thing when you teach individuals how to help the children in Northern Uganda. Then it can make an impact of one million.

    Thank you Roadies

  2. kimberywright November 10, 2011 at 5:42 am #

    I didn’t get a chance to see the presentation, but I agree and support everything that they are doing. From what I have heard from Mr. Lefkowitz as well as my friends. I hope the program continues and gets the help they need!

  3. braydonbrooks November 13, 2011 at 3:58 am #

    I wasnt able to watch the presentation, but I wish I could have because my friends told me some of the things that he talked about. I agree that the more people that we help the better. So I hope that they get the help they need, and that the program continues!

  4. Kendra Christopher November 14, 2011 at 3:25 am #

    I think helping the children in Northern Uganda is a great thing. Seeing the presentation on Invisible Children really made me want to help out. It’s important that we recognize many children are in danger. We can all help the Invisible Children Program by raising money together.

  5. Nery Aguilar November 14, 2011 at 3:35 am #

    Its amazing how in the United States we live without fear of war and getting obductted by this one dude and start to shoot other kids. I personally think that it is horrible what is happening in Uganda and what the invisible children group are doing is going to and already has had a big impact in Uganda and help those poor…Inoccent…Children.

  6. rosalynpriego November 14, 2011 at 4:41 am #

    Invisible Children has made a huge impact to how I see life. It has made me realize that many people take life for granted, and dont realize that there are millions of people around the world suffering. I have teamed up with some friends by making a short film and spreading the word about the Invisible Children Foundation, and letting others know that together we can all make a difference.

  7. mackenziecox November 14, 2011 at 5:57 am #

    I was able to watch the Invisible Children presentation and about how children in Uganda are being kidnapped and turned into soldiers by the army of Joseph Kony, known as the Lord’s Resistance Army. I believe that everyone who watches this presentation or hears about it from a friend is impacted and wants to learn more and learn how to help.

  8. Paige Meier November 15, 2011 at 1:12 am #

    I had the privilege to watch the Invisible Children presentation. I thought it was very eye-opening to see what is happing in Uganda right now, but after seeing the presentation I want to find out more about what is happening in Uganda, and learn how to help. Together we can make a difference!

  9. Desiree Lakin November 15, 2011 at 1:18 am #

    Invisible Children has made me take a look at myself. I am so blessed here in the U.S.A. and lots of people including myself take this for granted. All these kids want is to not be captured by Joseph Kony and the LRA. I’ve realized that the least I can do is support them in any way possible. I hope that Invisible Children can raise enough money to install many more radio towers.

  10. Emily Tiger Lemons November 15, 2011 at 4:42 am #

    A couple of weeks ago, I was privileged to watch a brief video about the Invisible Children. Right now in Northern Uganda there is a terrible war going on led by a man by the name of Joseph Kony he has take young boys from their homes and forced them to fight on his front lines. The Invisible Children are working amazingly hard to raise money to create radio towers so towns can contact one another and warn each other of Kony and to help build schools for kids and much more.
    When I watched this video it made me realize how precious life can be and how important it is. Watching Tony’s story made me laugh and cry because although he lost his mother and was in constant worry of being attacked and taken by Joseph Kony he was still a normal teenage boy. Tony just wanted to be like any other kid and he pretty much succeeded to the best of his abilities and circumstances.
    I think that by watching the Invisible Children Video it has taught me that no matter what, truly, friendship and love is the most important and best gift you can give anyone.

  11. Krystal Williams November 15, 2011 at 6:37 am #

    I was unlucky and wasn’t able to watch the Invisible Childern presentation, yet my friends who watch the video said it was a film that evoked a lot of a emotion. Hearing that I wanted to learn more about the Invisible Childern project. I went to the home website to learn more. I think it’s an asbolutely brilliant idea to focus on the teenage minds, because we are the next generation. If we are taught to think about issues outside the U.S we will porbably work to solve not only our problems, but also worldly problems. Now if we do this than maybe we can make the world better in some way; even if its just a little better. I hope my fellow students and I can help this orginzation for their cause. No matter how big or small we help.

  12. David Lefkowitz November 15, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    This, from a student who wishes to stay anonymous:

    Invisible Children
    Shaka House Blog
    Recently a foundation called Invisible Children visited South Medford High School. During their presentation, I heard an upsetting piece of news. There is a war going on in Northern Uganda, but not one that you would traditionally hear of. One man by the name of Joseph Kony has made an army by the name of the Lord’s Resistance Army, or LRA. He doesn’t use traditional adult volunteers, but instead abducts children from their houses and forces them to fight for him, raiding villages and killing their friends and peers. The Invisible Children foundation is helping these children by petitioning for an arrest warrant on Joseph Kony and his top official s of the LRA, building radios so that villages can be warned of the LRA’s movements, as well as teaching LRA children how to desert the army and safely return home, among other things. What one man has done and is still doing today is atrocious, and must be stopped. Luckily, you have a chance to help. You can donate to the Invisible Children easily by going to http://store.invisiblechildren.com/ to buy shirts, bracelets, DVD’s, and much more from the Invisible Children website, directly helping the children and families that have been affected by this cruel war. You can help us change the future of Uganda’s children.

  13. David Lefkowitz November 15, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    Here’s Marlie Scofield’s comment:

    I think we should do everything we can to help Invisible Children. When I watched the video, and when Kizuto spoke to us, it made me want to burst into tears. We all have love and compassion somewhere in our hearts. I think we should show it by doing what we can to help solve this problem. We can donate to the government to help them make shelters, and supply food as well. That will make more asylum’s be granted to refugees, which will help lost children and avoid mortality. Maybe popular companies could start selling their apparel. They could donate their profits to supply food. I also think we should raise more awareness, possibly make posters or have a group of students stand on a table. They could do this at lunch and with a bullhorn, tell the students to visit the website, donate or otherwise support this action.

  14. firemancam November 16, 2011 at 12:42 am #

    I think that Invisible Children is a great thing. It has changed my perspective on how we live as people and a country. The roadies serve everyday and give their lives to help the refugees running from Joseph Kony. They risk their lives and go into the line of duty not just for themselves, but to help the children in need. We as a school need to step up to help and keep Kony away from those poor children that need to find love and live in peace. I need to do everything that I can to help the kids in Africa.

    Thank You Roadies!!

  15. Bailey Nicole Aldrich November 16, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    When the Invisible Children came to us at South Medford, I was shocked to hear what they had to say. I think it is insane to think that just on the other side of the world there are kids just like us having to suffer and are being forced to fight for something that they don’t believe in. It helps me to look at myself and what I have and not to take it for granted. I want to help any way possible to get this information out to people so that we can make a difference, not just in our communtity but around the world.

  16. Robert Gattis November 16, 2011 at 2:16 am #

    Invisible Children: one of the most Chivalrous groups of people out there today. Thank you for caring and lending a hand. I would like to become a Roadie one of these days. Kony must be overthrown and taken out of the picture. Those children deserve better than having their lives threatened every minute and hour of the day and night. When I watched the video. I was honored. And I thought to myself “Wow. How dare that man be such a monster. I wish I could help out over there in Uganda and the surrounding area.” No being should have to endure that. Having to worry about being kidnapped, forced to fight in an army against their will, or be killed. “Kill or be killed” a concept that no one should experience. And I mean no one. I look up towards you Roadies. You are my heroes. I appreciate what you do and I wish I could do the same one day.
    People take life for granted. People here in the USA take security and the pleasure of being comfortable and safe for granted. The Invisible Children have changed my view on life. They have made a major impact on my life. One person can only make a single difference. A million people can only make a million differences. “United we stand. Divided we fall.”, “A leader is only as good as those he leads.” Please people. Please spread the word of The Invisible Children and maybe, just maybe, can we make a difference where it is needed today.

  17. Krystal Williams November 16, 2011 at 3:49 am #

    I was very unlucky and wasn’t able to watch the Invisible Children presentation, but my friends who did watch the presentation said it evoked a lot of emotion. Since I did not get to watch the video, I wanted to learn more about the Invisible Children organization. I went to their home website. I think it’s an absolutely brilliant idea to present to teens, because we are the next generation. If we can learn about international problems now, then we can grow and later in life help solve not only our problems at home, but also worldly problems. I hope that my fellow students and I can help, in any way possible, big or little, for the Invisible Children cause.

  18. jnjrd468 November 16, 2011 at 3:52 am #

    I was gifted by being allowed to see the Invisible Children presentation. To see what is going on in Uganda and surrounding countries was heartbreaking, and reminded be how thankful I am to live in the U.S.A. To see and hear that a war is going on in and around Uganda this very second and to hear that they are capturing children is sad. Children! To help fight the war for them! It was very eye opening and so very sad. I am even more thankful that I do not have to live in fear of fleeing during the night and hide in fear that they will find me to fight in the war. I was so happy to hear that I can contribute money that will buy communication supplies that will save many people’s lives. And I hope that with our help many people will be saved and the war will soon end, without involving children.

  19. Mitch Steadman November 16, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    I think that the invisible children is a great way to get the word out about people in need in other countries because of war. I believe that this project is doing a great deal to raise awareness about the people in need in Uganda. I hope that the people in need in Uganda will be able to use these phone systems in a way so that no more innocent children will be forced to fight against their will.

  20. Erika Adams November 16, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    Thanksgiving is right around the corner. Yes, I know. Food, yum! Just think though THANKS then GIVING. I believe that the best way to show that you are thankful for what you have is to give and serve others. You have a lot to be thankful for. For some citizens in Africa it is a blessing just to make it through another day without finding out a tragedy has happened to you. Before you eat your turkey give some giving before you give the thanks. Invisible Children is a great way to do that, whatever you can manage to do can add a blessing to another life. Wouldn’t that make your Thanksgiving Day special?

  21. Erika Adams November 16, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    http://www.invisiblechildren.com/homepage

    Visit the website!

  22. Madison Grace Valentine November 16, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    I was not aware that Uganda was in this much trouble. I was completely shocked to hear about how kids are forced to fight in war. Taken from their very own homes and placed in a dangerous surrounding and also be expected to fight for the people that took them. It’s sick to think about those kids and how they are forced to live their lives like this. I want to do everything I can to help these kids. They deserve a better life than this and I’m happy South Medford is taking action and actually doing all they can to help these kids.

  23. Omar Torres November 17, 2011 at 1:54 am #

    In my opinion, I think the Invisible Children foundation is the best way to spread the word of how people in Uganda live and what challenges they have to face each day. In the USA, we don’t have to be afraid of being taken away by the rebels and have to fight in wars. But we can help the people in Uganda by doing fund raisers and donating money but we can also help by spreading the word so people can know the life that the children in Uganda are facing every day. These people deserve a better life and we are trying to do our best to help them.

  24. April Olson November 17, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    I think what invisible children is doing for kids like tony in uganda and other parts of africa is spectacular. It truly amazes me that three guys could start an organization that would have a huge impact on the world. I would love to become a roadie some day because I know it would be a life changing experience. I hope that someday Joseph Kony will be defeated because no child should have to be afraid of being kidnapped and forced to fight and kill innocent people.

  25. Emery Ball November 18, 2011 at 2:09 am #

    Invisible children is an amazing organization and has helped, if not saved, many lives in Africa. With the new networking system they put up, I feel that even more people can be helped to get away from the L.R.A. I can’t wait to see what other great ideas Invisible Children will have.

  26. April Olson February 29, 2012 at 1:33 am #

    I think that this opportunity to be pen pals with other kids our age in a different country is a great idea. It will help us to understand what kids in Russia and Denmark do with their time and learn all about their culture. I also think that it will help us to stop taking our lives for granted and to wake up to what is happening around the world.

Leave a Reply

