World Studies Connects with Denmark

27 Jan

Can You Read Danish?

Danish students at Han Herreders Ungdomsskole school (a private boarding school) are communicating with Shaka House World Studies Honor students.  Danish teachers-administrators (Christina Pedersen and Flemming Pedersen) crossed the Atlantic to visit our World Studies classes in December.  Now we have connected the students so they can learn from each other in preparation for Danish students’ visit here next year.  We look forward to sharing thoughts about customs and ideals, as we look outside our respective country’s boundaries. 

Students will act by sharing pictures and comments on this post, as well as sharing private correspondence via email, Facebook and other weblinks.  Stay tuned.

Check out Han Herreders Ungdomsskole webpage here.

11 Responses to “World Studies Connects with Denmark”

  1. Paige Meier February 14, 2012 at 12:57 am #

    I hope that this experience helps me better understand the teens that call Denmark home.

  2. gennatutland912 February 14, 2012 at 3:58 am #

    I am excited to say that I have gotten a couple of replies back from my pen pal Lykke from Denmark. We are asking and answering a lot of questions that each other has, and I’m starting to get to know Denmark a little more each time.

  3. popninja007 February 14, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    Corresponding with Denmark students is very interesting. They seem very similar to the average American teenager. So far, my penpal says that she loves the movie “She’s the Man,” the show “Friends” and the Twilight Series. :/ There was kind of a strange difference though. Apparently every weekend most students get a tractor and tie sleds to it and ride around haha. Interesting…

  4. Max Ettel February 15, 2012 at 4:30 am #

    I have been communicating with Denmark, and I have been enjoying it. My Pen pal Laurids Fink is very fun to e-mail and Facebook message because, we talk about ourselves, and how are lives have been and I find it very interesting to read about. I have found that my pen pal and I have quite a bit in common. The most notable may be that we both enjoy Youtube. I find it interesting that it appears he knows more about my country than I know about his. So in short, I enjoy having a pen pal in Denmark.
    Max Ettel

  5. justaregularfan February 15, 2012 at 6:30 am #

    Just wrote my message to my penpal in Denmark. I’m currently awaiting her response. It’s really cool to have the opportunity to have a friendship with someone living so far away.

  6. Krystal Sparky Williams February 16, 2012 at 5:37 am #

    I haven’t had the chance to get a response for my pen pal yet, but right now we are starting to talk about the differences in our school systems. I’m really excited to get to know about her culture and be able to share my own with her. I can’t wait to start actually talking to her regularlyl about what we have in common and what we don’t have in common.

  7. Amanda Shaylee Hunt February 16, 2012 at 7:07 am #

    I think that this idea is really neat. You get to learn all about an area in the world (Denmark) by communicating with someone. It’s really neat to see how technology got us this far. My pen pal did not reply yet, but I am looking forward to when she does.

  8. kimberywright February 23, 2012 at 1:27 am #

    This opportunity to connect to Denmark has really opened my eyes to people around the world! My pen-pal and I are really opening up to each other! This is so much fun! I can’t wait to learn more!

  9. Desiree Lakin February 28, 2012 at 3:22 am #

    I haven’t heard back from my pen pal yet but I think I will soon! I’m excited to see how life is similar and different to the United States in Denmark! Who knows? Maybe one day I’ll go and visit!

  10. Adryannia Sides March 1, 2012 at 5:21 am #

    I havent sent an email to my pen pal yet, but I will soon. I am very excited to talk to someone from Denmark. I hope that we have a lot of things in common and that maybe some day I can meet this person.

  11. Krystal Sparky Williams March 8, 2012 at 4:58 am #

    I’ve been talking to two students in Denmark. Both have asked me about our school’s systems and about what I want to do after high school. I was kind of unprepared for that question and had to really think about my future. I have a lot of if’s in my future and just by reading a simple email I thought about every single one of those if’s. Talking to these two girls is really starting to make me take a step back and look at what I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

